Forced Hospital Treatment – Don’t let this happen to you

The Independent recently reported that judge Mr Justice Hayden decided that a women with a brain tumour should have chemotherapy despite “wanting to die”.

Due to her illness, the lady in her sixties has been left mentally incapable of making any decisions in relation to her treatment but at the time when she was capable, she had said she would not want to live with cancer. For the full report, please click here.

This case highlights the importance of having a Health & Welfare Lasting Power of Attorney in place, particularly in respect of treatment and care for you and your family.

How we can help

Our Court of Protection & Powers of Attorney guide explains how our experts can help and we are only a telephone call away should you need further information or advice. 0161 330 6821.

Or email our Court of Protection & Powers of Attorney department direct:

David Hilton                dhilton@bromleys.co.uk

John Longworth          jlongworth@bromleys.co.uk

Shaun O’Carroll          socarroll@bromleys.co.uk

Hannah Thomas         hthomas@bromleys.co.uk

Lynda Williams            lwilliams@bromleys.co.uk

Jane Swann                     jswann@bromleys.co.uk

Alternatively, you are welcome to attend any of our free legal surgeries. Please click here for dates and times – No appointment necessary.

The contents of this article are intended for general information purposes only and shall not be deemed to be, or constitute legal advice. We cannot accept responsibility for any loss as a result of acts or omissions taken in respect of this article.